logo CA3F


The Communauté d'Agglomération des Trois Frontières (C.A.3.F.) is the organizing authority for urban transport on the territory of the ten communes of Bartenheim, Blotzheim, Buschwiller, Hégenheim, Hésingue, Huningue Kembs Rosenau, Saint-Louis and Village-Neuf, representing a population of 50 000 inhabitants.

Since 1988, municipalities have entrusted it with the task of developing public transport with the following objectives:

  • Ensuring accessibility of internal Communauté d'Agglomération and link the different poles between each other
  • Accessing Mermoz Saint-Louis' High School and Junior High
  • Accessing Basel jobs and activities

To fulfill its mission, the Communauté d'Agglomération has chosen to entrust the operation of the Distribus system, introduced in September 1994, to a private carrier.

Since January 1st 2012, a new contract "Delegation of Public Service" has been set with the company Métrocars Saint-Louis, for a period of 7 years.

The DISTRIBUS network consists in:

  • 4 regular routes operating all day, two domestic service routes (1 and 2) and two cross routes (3 and 4) serving Central Basel
  • 3 routes operating during peak hours (5, 6 and 12) primarily focusing on serving schools
  • 2 on demand transport routes (lines 7 and 8) serving the center of Basel, partially transformed into regular routes during peak hours
  • 2 shuttles between the station of Saint-Louis to Z.I. Huningue and Hésingue (9 and 10)
  • 1 timed shuttle linking the station of Saint-Louis to the airport of Basel-Mulhouse
  • 1 transport service for disabled persons operating based on, on demand and door-to-door.

Key figures

  • 1.193.228 km driven in 2015
  • 123 stations, including 12 on Swiss territory
  • 30 vehicles, including 19 standard buses
  • 2.483.896 trips in 2015